Pet Project: Zero Waste Home (Almost)

I love the idea of never throwing something away again. I already do this with coffee grounds, and I recycle as best I can. (I live in an apartment so sometimes recycling isn’t an option. Gasp. I know.) It is a dream of mine to accomplish this. (Although I still plan on using sanitary napkins, disposable diapers, and bathroom products. I live in a house of boys people.)

Here is the grand master list of what I have and want to accomplish to do my part in being green:

Cloth products

  • Cloth grocery bags
  • Cloth produce bags
  • Cloth or paper dry goods bags
  • Cloth paper towels
  • Cloth napkins
  • Cloth bread bag
  • Cloth gift wrapping

Kitchen

  • Buy local meats, eggs, and produce
  • Make my own bread
  • Bake own sweets (cookies, brownies, cakes, etc)
  • Make own ice cream and pop-cycles using real fruit
  • Leftovers in all glass/metal containers like mason jars
  • Can own food
  • Make own condiments
  • Grow own herbs, spices, and misc

Other

  • E-bills
  • Magazines online only
  • Old clothes to dusting and cleaning rags
  • Make own laundry detergent
  • Reusable coffee cups
  • Reusable ‘ziplocks’
  • Reusable water bottles

And many more to come. I’m crossing off the ones that we already do, or that I’ve successfully implemented into life for at least a month (the time it takes to build a habit, right?)

Leave a Reply

